Archive for the 'Writing' Category

NYC Book Launch for A Thousand Beginnings and Endings – June 26

Please join me and five talented authors for the book launch of our new own-voices anthology of stories inspired by Asian folklore and mythology, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings!

WHEN: Tuesday, June 26, 2018 at 7 p.m.
WHERE: McNally Jackson Soho
52 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012

FEATURING: Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Melissa de la Cruz, E.C. Myers (that’s me!), Ellen Oh, and Shveta Thakrar.

About the book:
Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen talented authors—including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Renée Ahdieh, and Julie Kagawa—reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. Compiled by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this exquisite collection is for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.

Dark City Fanfiction

In honor of the 20th anniversary of one of my all-time favorite films, Dark City, here is a coda I wrote for it in March 2005. I don’t write much fanfic, and this was never revised, published, or posted anywhere–it was written only as an exercise for an old writing group. I don’t remember what they said about it, but looking back on it, some of it makes me cringe now, and some of it still makes me smile. Be gentle, dear readers. If anything, this is a testament to how much the Clarion West Workshop I attended a few months after I wrote it helped me improve, and also that writers shouldn’t be embarrassed by their early work.

Dark-City-header

Dark City: “Time for Romance”

Continue reading ‘Dark City Fanfiction’

2017 in Writing

I don’t usually bother with award eligibility posts, because I figure if you haven’t already read my story you aren’t going to track it down now, and if you have and think it’s worthy of an award, you probably already have it covered. But everyone can use reminders, and it’s kind of nice for me to run down a list of what I published last year since I can use the reminder too that hey, I may not be writing a lot these days, but I’m producing some work I’m really proud of that I hope people will enjoy. So, here’s some work of mine that was published last year!

“City Girl” – Behind the Song, ed. K.M. Walton, Sourcebooks, Sept. 2017

“Big Brother” – Feral Youth, ed. Shaun Hutchinson, Simon Pulse, Sept. 2017

“The Observer Effect” – Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy, ed. Lucas K. Law and Derwin Mak, Oct. 2017

1985: Stories from SOS, Adaptive Books, 2017 (available at B&N) – features  a new novella set in the Silence of Six universe, “1985”

ReMade Season 2, Episode 4: “Save Point”, Dec. 2017, Serial Box

As for 2018… You can read all three episodes I wrote for the second season of ReMade now, I’m working on a new middle grade book, I have a couple of stories I love coming out in anthologies this year, and I hope to have some other projects if things work out. Onward!

Super MAGFest this weekend!

m2018logo

I will be at Super MAGFest (Music and Gaming Festival) this weekend, Jan. 4-7, Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in Oxon Hill, MD, talking about two of my favorite things: writing and video games.

I will be participating in two panels:

The Retro Aesthetic and the Power of Abstraction
Friday Jan. 5, 2:30-3:30 p.m.
MAGES1 – Chesapeake G, H, I
Panelists: Vince Kuyatt, Luke Johnston, Oliver Surpless, E.C. Myers
Despite the gains in graphical capabilities, games continue to turn to the faux 8 and 16 bit aesthetics. Why is this, and how does this form impact our playing experience? Why is it that games like Five Nights at Freddy’s intentionally switch between 8-bit and 3D rendering for specific moments, and what effects does this create in the player? How would games like Lone Survivor, Undertale and Beat Cop function differently with a different aesthetic. What can we learn about using the retro aesthetic to create a powerful response in our players? Come listen to a panel discuss our favorite examples of retro game design, and why we continue to love this aesthetic.

Gaming Writers: Translating Gaming Culture Onto the Page
Sunday, Jan 7, 10-11 a.m.
FORGE – Baltimore 3, 4
Panelists: Meg Eden, TE Carter, Luke Johnston, Lynn Almengor, E.C. Myers
Writers will describe how games and gaming culture have inspired their original projects, how they break and subvert stereotypes about gaming culture, and why they turned to writing as a medium for translating their gaming experiences.

Let me know if you’ll be attending, and if you’d like to meet up, the best way to contact me is through Twitter. (I know, I can’t believe I wrote that either, but it’s true.)

BEHIND THE SONG Launch Party

If you’re in the Greater Philadelpia area, I hope to see you tomorrow at the Behind the Song launch party!

BehindTheSong