Tag Archive: book launch

NYC Book Launch for A Thousand Beginnings and Endings – June 26

Please join me and five talented authors for the book launch of our new own-voices anthology of stories inspired by Asian folklore and mythology, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings!

WHEN: Tuesday, June 26, 2018 at 7 p.m.
WHERE: McNally Jackson Soho
52 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012

FEATURING: Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Melissa de la Cruz, E.C. Myers (that’s me!), Ellen Oh, and Shveta Thakrar.

About the book:
Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen talented authors—including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Renée Ahdieh, and Julie Kagawa—reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. Compiled by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this exquisite collection is for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.

the truth is out there

Hurray! My new novel, The Silence of Six, is out today! It’s now available in several eBook flavors and in hardcover.

SoS_onsale_twittercards_v07

This is my third published book, and I’m really proud of it — I probably worked harder on this than any of my previous novels, including the unpublished ones (which I’m still working on). I pushed myself outside of my comfort zone and grew a lot in writing it; throughout the process I felt a strong responsibility to truth and realism, particularly in portraying hacking and the difficult choices faced by those who use their skills to effect change and uphold justice. Getting the details right became very important to me. I hope I pulled it off, but if I erred, I did so with the utmost respect and the best of intentions.

Thank you once again to everyone at my publisher, Adaptive Books, for trusting me with this story and helping to make it the best it could be. As always, I also owe so much to the JABberwocky Literary Agency, my writing group Altered Fluid, my critique partners, tech consultants, and friends and family. And finally, thanks to all those who have been helping to spread the word by recommending it, reviewing it, Tweeting, posting, and more. (Please keep it up!)

This book is yours now. I hope you enjoy it, and perhaps even look at the world around us a little differently after reading it.

If you have any questions about The Silence of Six, my writing process, my favorite books or shows or games, or whatever, drop by my Reddit Books AMA today at noon. Ask me anything, and I will answer!

Stay frosty,
Eugene